Wrath (The Faithful and the Fallen #4)

27411345“It will be a dark day, a bloody day, a proud day, for this is the day of our wrath.”

Author: John Gwynne
Category: Epic Fantasy
Pages: 682
Publication Date: November 17th, 2016
I think I said in a review earlier in the series that this series reads like a celebration of high and epic fantasy. Nearly all the familiar tropes from the genre are there but in a way that almost seems to acknowledge that is what they are and reminds us why they became tropes in the first place: because in the hands of a talented author they literally create magic.

While reading Wrath, I realized that it has been a long time since I finished a completed series. I am up to date on several continuing series but it has been too long since I experienced the conclusion of one. And endings are hard to nail.

This ending was a tad predictable. Nearly everything that I thought was going to happen did. Again though, it was was just so well written (and I didn’t quite guess it all) that it was still a very satisfactory ending to a wonderful series.

Looking back over the series, I would have to say that the third book, Ruin, was my favorite of the series, though this final one is a close second. The character development was the best part of the series for me and by this last book, it was all pretty much done and characters decided. The characters were still just as wonderfully written as in earlier books, they just were finished developing at this point so there was naturally no movement there.

And that kind of brings me to my only real “complain” (even though it is really only half a complaint). I mentioned in my review for Ruin that though I like the main character, Corban, I have trouble connecting with him. That stayed true for this book as well. He is a good character and written great for what his role in the story is. For some reason though there is just something missing that leads to me failing to respond to him.

Still, even through not connecting well with the main character, this was a fantastic series that I would have to highly recommend to anyone that loves the genre.

Rating:

8-really liked it

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑